Thankfulness isn’t just for Thanksgiving

I was invited to participate in a blog feature from Barefoot Mahala. Her idea is for us to share three reasons we are thankful this week. So, here goes:

1.     This guy (Well, I’m thankful for both guys in this picture but this post is about my husband, Ken.) This is going to sound really cliche but he, without a doubt, is my very best friend. When we used to work together, people would ask us all the time how we could stand it. Stand it? We LOVED it. We got to ride to and from work with each other. Have lunch together, take breaks together and share in all the hilarities that ensue in corporate America. Now that I’m a stay at home mom and he’s the only “working” one (Please no hate mail. Trust me, I know that moms really do work.), I love that he works from home! We still have our lunches together and sometimes watch episodes of our favorite TV shows (during his lunch break, of course). I really do enjoy spending time with him. Not to mention that he’s a great dad, great when I’m all emotional and the go-to guy for computer problems and bug killing.

2.     A week of testing at school. Every year, the students undergo testing for a week. For the public schools in Florida, it’s the FCAT. Private schools call it SAT testing but it’s basically the same thing. Why am I thankful for this? Because it means NO HOMEWORK all week! No reading, no math, no studying for tests or quizzes. Just a relaxed week with early bedtimes so they’ll be rested in the morning. 

3.     I’m grateful for my youngest son, Jackson. He will be eight years old on Monday. I can’t believe it has been eight years since he joined our little family. He’s such a great addition and our lives would not be the same without him. I love to watch his sarcastic personality develop at such a young age.

Here he is as a toddler:

And here are a couple photos I took today. I can’t believe how much he’s grown and how many freckles he has. I just told him the other day that I thought he had more freckles than the day before. 


I’m also making this my photo of the day. 

105/365:

Happy birthday, Jackie! We love you!

What are you thankful for this week?

14 thoughts on “Thankfulness isn’t just for Thanksgiving

  1. I enjoy reading your blog but this one really grabbed me . There is nothing .. NOTHING … more special than family !

  2. Oh my goodness, what a full personality he has, you can see it in his eyes! Love the confidence and attitude and ‘cheeky monkey’ look in that last pic! By the way, loved the pic of your grandma in the other post! and the ‘big shoes to fill’ post was beautiful. Your photos just keep getting better and better. keep it up!

    • Thanks for the sweet compliment. He really has a huge personality. He’s quiet but funny, mellow and very sarcastic like his parents. And I have NO idea where those lashes came from. I sure don’t have any that long. He’s always had them (as you can see from the toddler picture).

  3. Pingback: Mother and a friend « Freckles and Fences

Leave a Reply

