Lessons from Hansel and Gretel

It’s Sunday and that means another outing for the family. I started thinking yesterday about where we should go and Ken came to me & suggested War Veteran’s Memorial Park. We learned a lot of things while we were there.

Things like beware of purple, child sized dinosaurs. They may bite:

We learned how to jump from swings. Or maybe, how NOT to jump from swings. I gushed on and on about my dad yesterday. Good thing I didn’t have “swing jumper” on the list. Also, next time you see my dad, ask him to give you a skateboarding lesson or to show you the best way to hold a cup of coffee while opening up stage curtains:

{I know the photo above is in NO way close to perfect. But it was the only shot I got so I had to include it.}

We saw an old tank. I learned that this tank doesn’t even get one mile per gallon. At this rate, it would take seven gallons of gas to drive this baby home. I don’t really want to figure out how much that would cost:

I think this bad boy has seen better days. When I was a kid, you used to be able to climb all over it. Now it’s for viewing only. 

We learned that sometimes we need to look in the most ordinary places for smiles. We found this resting in an empty parking spot:

We drove to where the park meets the water. Hansel and Gretel taught us to leave a trail so we can find our way back. First you need to gather something to mark your trail:

Then you can leave a trail:

107/365:

I learned that shells are good for something other than stepping on at the beach. Thank you, Hansel and Gretel:


Who knew that these Sunday Outings could be so educational? What’s next week going to bring us? I can’t wait to find out.

6 thoughts on “Lessons from Hansel and Gretel

  1. It really looks you had a great day:)
    I love your dad’s baby shoes in last post. If I would know any shoemaker I would show the picture and order the same kind of shoes to me, they are really beautiful shoes.

    • Oh, thanks so much! It’s not something we’ve done for very long but I’m really enjoying it. I’m hoping that I’ll have ideas for the summer when it feels like 200 degrees out side with 500% humidity! That’s when I want to stay inside in front of the a/c vents!

  2. Pingback: Abercrombie Park « Freckles and Fences

Leave a Reply

