The little speckled mug

So what? It was the 70’s and brown speckled dinnerware was everywhere. But what I had was different. When I was 4 years old, my grandmother gave me something awesome. You see, she wasn’t always the best gift giver. For as long as I can remember, she has been the type that liked to give things that SHE would want and not always something the recipient would enjoy. She’s still like that, but we all forgive her because she’s 85 years old now. You can get away with all kinds of shenanigans when you get to that age. In fact, I’ve started keeping a list of the tomfoolery I want to pull when I get older. I get giddy just thinking about it!

When I was younger and we lived in Colorado Springs, my grandmother worked for Van Briggle Pottery. The company has been around since 1899 and I just love their stuff. They have a very unique look to their pottery. The location where she used to work (and the only place they made the pottery, if I’m correct) closed down recently but not before I got a tour. The last time we were in Colorado, we visited Van Briggle and toured the facilities. I even met a lady that remembered my grandmother from years ago!

Back to my grandmother & her gift giving. One year, on my birthday she gave me this personalized mug that she made with her own two hands. Obviously, I don’t remember opening the gift but I sure treasure it now! I love it so much that I won’t even use it. At all. It sits in the back of my pantry so no one (including me) can break it. I’m a sucker for family mementos and handmade things. This one even has her initials carved into the bottom. I love it. Long after she’s gone, I’ll have this as a memory of her. 

109/365

To the best of my knowledge, they didn’t mass produce customized mugs and that means my little cup is probably worth a pretty penny. But I already knew that; my grandmother made it, remember?

4 thoughts on “The little speckled mug

  1. why don’t you use it as a pencil holder? or near your bed as a jewelry container? then you’d be ‘using’ it but with less potential to break it. At least then you’d see it.
    And there is always super glue!

Leave a Reply

