Spelling walkabout

Sometimes we just need to get outside when studying. A few months ago, Ethan was having quite a hard time with his spelling words. And he’s an excellent speller. Two-times-in-the-school-spelling-bee kind of good. But this one particular week, he was having quite a hard time and I was getting frustrated. {And that’s how I know that I’m not cut out for homeschooling. We would probably kill each other if I was his one and only teacher.} At my wit’s end, I suggested we study the spelling words while going for a walk around the neighborhood. It worked like a charm! I don’t know if it was the fresh air or the change of scenery but it really helped him. From then on, we take a walk if he’s having a hard time with spelling. Tonight was a little bit different. He had worked quite a long time on his homework and I wanted to prevent the ensuing meltdown. So I suggested we take a walk, the three of us (Ken was at a meeting).

While out, I decided to look for things in my neighborhood that I usually miss or things that I particularly like about it. Here is a statue that almost always freaks out my dog. He’s not the smartest, by any means but we sure love him.

I wish I had a green thumb so I could grow things like this:


But I don’t. Even my husband knows it as proven here. But I’m happy that others have this talent & I still get to enjoy them. 

I’m not sure if he was afraid that I would quiz him as well, but Jackson walked about 1/2 block ahead of us the whole time. Here’s proof. And yes, the boy would be shirtless 24/7 if it were acceptable. I see Key West as his address one day. 

When he’d get to the end of the block, he’d wait for us like this:

I don’t know what kind of tree this is but it’s one of my favorites in the neighborhood. I think it looks like it’s right out of a Dr. Seuss book. It’s so perfect and round. 

Then we came upon this fire hydrant. I’ll spare you the details of why it caught Jackson’s eye but it had something to do with a spider having a rather interesting dinner. All of the fire hydrants in the neighborhood are the conventional yellow except this one. It doesn’t appear to have been yellow in a long, long time.

116/365:

I like it. I like how it wants to stand out from all the others. I wonder if the person living next to this hydrant uses it as a “landmark”. I imagine it goes something like this:

“Turn right on 29th Street and we’re the house next to the turquoise hydrant.”

“Oh yes, now I know where you live.”

See, it would totally work, don’t you think?

And I’m sure it has to do with some idiot years ago, but do you REALLY think they would need to put a “do not drink” on something that looks like this?

Didn’t think so, either.

We’ll see how Ethan does on his spelling test tomorrow. Even if he doesn’t get an A, I had a really good time with him. I’m staring to think the spelling walkabouts help me more than they help him. 

2 thoughts on “Spelling walkabout

Leave a Reply

