My own personal Groundhog Day

I don’t know how this keeps happening to me. This is the 2nd time my not-so-nifty-fifty lens has broken. It’s not an expensive lens but it’s the only one I have other than my kit lens. They only run about $125 and mine hasn’t lasted a year. It broke in February and I had it repaired for $60 and now this. And this happened IN my camera bag. What irks me most is the fact that I normally don’t even use my bag; I just carry my camera around with me ready to shoot at any given time. But I put it in my bag yesterday and when I pulled it out at home, this is what I saw.

146/365:

So what’s a girl to do? Until yesterday, I was trying to figure out what lens to get next year. What lens should I buy for our Europe trip? And now I’m trying to decide what lens to get now? I certainly don’t have any disposable income. I’m a stay at home mom and we’re not rich by ANY stretch of the imagination. We struggle like anyone else but one thing we don’t do is use credit cards. And I’m not using one for this, that’s for sure. So, I’m asking you, my fellow photographers, what is your lens of choice? What do you shoot with 90% of the time? Is it a zoom lens? A prime? What’s the aperture?

I really hate to move to a zoom lens (and stay under $500) and lose my wider aperture. What say ye? Any thoughts as I save up for another lens? I surely won’t have this one repaired again.

4 thoughts on “My own personal Groundhog Day

  1. Well I have both the Tamron 28-75 mm lens and the Canon 50 mm f/1.4 lens and love them both…but I really use my 50 for nearly everything. It’s 10x better than the f/1.8.

  2. What bad luck! 😦 I use my nifty-fifty most of the time and haven’t had any problems with it yet. I also really like my 85 mm 1.8 lens, but can’t use that indoors as much because of the focal length. good luck finding something!

  3. What a bummer! I have never broken a lens– my lens of choice is my Nikon 18-105. It works for everything. You should check out some of the used camera/lens websites… they sell refurbished one at very reasonable prices!

  4. Pingback: Freckles and Fences

Leave a Reply

