This is tour?

OK, so it’s been a while. Remember me? I’m back and I’d like to update you on our little weekend away to see Mumford & Sons. This turned out to be one of the best road trips I’ve ever been on. And I’ve been on a lot. This one definitely is up in the top three. Grab a cup of coffee or tea and enjoy our little catch-up.

There were 10 of us total but 4 in my car. The four of us had less than 5 hours of sleep each. Some of us were working on one single hour of sleep. I will go on record and say that this is quite possibly the biggest reason this trip was so much fun. We were all slap happy the entire first day. We left bright and early at 6am (hence my sunrise picture on the previous blog post). We laughed until our stomachs hurt and our makeup was totally gone. There’s no way I can tell the stories and have them come across funny to you. But here’s a list of some of the quotes. Just know that there’s no way this is going to be funny to anyone else other than those in my car.

Where’s Shane?
Well, that was awkward.
I want to wear your skin.
Lol dot dot dot.
John 3:16
She’s freakishly strong.
My stomach hurts. Right here.
Robots in disguise

Sir, you’re wearing it wrong.
I’m going to commit comic suicide. 

Hoooo-rah!
Is someone going to check us in?
This is tour?
What is Electric Circus?
My back hurts.
Is Sean ty-ty?
You have all the tools you need.
STRANGER DANGER!
I really unforseened-it up this time
Ken, Amber, Jessica and Sean are at…
Jeremiah 29:11
This is mountain?

See? Doesn’t make any sense to you, I’m sure. But as I sit here & type this, I’m laughing so hard that I’m crying.  

Now onto things that WILL make sense to you. When we arrived in Georgia, we stopped at Stone Mountain. I don’t think I’ll ever do that again in the middle of the day in June. It was miserable. Trust me, I know miserable when I feel it. I live in Florida where heat & humidity are almost a constant thing. We melted there for a little while and were off to dinner & accommodations for the night.

Here’s Anna capturing the perfect shot of the mountain.

On Sunday we visited a Vineyard church while in Atlanta. We had all met the worship leader a few months ago so it wasn’t like we didn’t know anyone at all. For lunch our friend, Shane, suggested we eat at The Marietta Diner. If you’re ever in the area, you MUST try this place. The portions are HUGE and the desserts are heaven. Right as you walk into the diner, there’s a mesmerizing gum ball machine:

It was sitting next to a wall of glass blocks – see them in the reflection?

I told you the desserts were heaven. Here are some of your choices. Yes, some.

After lunching, we headed to Atlantic Station for some shopping. I got to catch up with some old friends (H&M) as well as meet some new ones (West Elm). And then we were off for THE SHOW! We stopped at The Varsity for dinner/snacks while Chris, our pastor, walked to get our tickets. I alluded to it in my previous post but the story is that Chris emailed Marcus Mumford’s mom and dad after meeting them in Arizona. They made it possible for us to be on Marcus Mumford’s list for 8 free tickets to a show that sold out in less than 10 minutes! After a small glitch (turns out that the Fox Theater didn’t have us on the list) we were on our way into the theater!

This is the entire crew minus me & Shane (he was next to me taking pictures):

From left to right: Ken (handsome, isn’t he?), Sean(our youth pastor and the source of 1/2 our funny quotes), Jessica (texting – shocking! She’s the source of the other 1/2 of our funny quotes), Logan (he’s about 3 feet behind in the jeans and blue shirt. He’s our pastor’s son), Anna & Lexi posing for the picture (Lexi is our pastor’s daughter & quite funny as well. And you’ll remember Anna from my very first blog post.) Crista & Chris are to the right of the box office. In the beginning, we weren’t sure if Crista was going to go with us & I’m so glad she did. She’s a wonderful pastor’s wife & it was great getting to know her a bit more on this trip. And a big, HUGE thank you to Chris for making this all possible!

Before going into the theater, I wanted to get some jumping shots. I handed the camera over to Ken, sent him across the street & told him to let me know when the sign said “Mumford and Sons” & I’d jump. Easy, right?

Didn’t quite work. Let’s try that again:

See my hands above the car? Yeah, I gave up on that after 3 or 4 tries. Oh well…at least I tried!

The following pictures are actually from Anna. I didn’t bring my camera into the theater for two reasons. First of all, I didn’t think they’d let me in with a camera. Turns out, they didn’t check for stuff like that. And secondly, I knew that if I had my camera with me, I’d be tempted to get “the perfect picture” and I didn’t want that to happen. But Anna had GREAT seats & it didn’t hurt that she’s quite a bit taller than me so she had a better angle, too. 

This is taken off to the side & shows the inside of the Fox Theater. What a great venue!

Then they did something I’ve NEVER seen in any show. Ever. In a venue of 8,000 people, they performed two songs with no PA system at all. No microphones were used and no guitars or any other instruments were plugged in for these two songs. Totally unplugged and it was the most amazing moment of the entire night. They sang Timshel and as well as a song not on their album (I think the name of the song was Sister). It was really the best show I’ve ever seen.

The following picture was taken with my iPhone and is my picture of the day. The best day I’ve had in a long, long time. And the best Sunday Outing I’ve been on (except my boys weren’t with us).

163/365:

So, that was my weekend. I came back with no voice (but left with only half a voice) and some great memories. It was a great time. One that will not soon be forgotten by any of us.

I’ll leave you with a video from the night. They said this is a new song that’s not finished yet. If you have the time, watch the video till the very end. It’s a beautiful song and the whole audience sings along with them. Can’t wait till the new album comes out.


8 thoughts on “This is tour?

  1. Youth Pastor Shane, habahabahabahabaha…
    We will always have Atlanta. Thank you for writing this, I will cherish it forever 🙂

  2. It’s fun reading a post on my home town. I agree abt the heat at St. Mountain! Whew. Love Atlantic Station! You’ve captured everything so well.

    • Wow, thanks kimmyskids! I’m glad I didn’t know ahead of time I had anyone from Atlanta reading – I would have been way more nervous writing the post. You’ve got a nice little town on your hands. Thanks for sharing with us!

  3. Pingback: A year in review « Freckles and Fences

Leave a Reply

