Questions and links

I’m going to put something out there but first you have to promise not to say to yourself, “Her? Really? Maybe they need glasses.”

That’ll make sense once you hear what I have to say but you have to virtual pinky promise me not to think those thoughts before I say it. Because, above anything else (even swearing on your mother’s grave), the pinky promise is the most binding promise. Ever. 

Ready? OK. Some friends asked me to shoot their wedding for them. {Huge, giant gulp} I’m excited, nervous, terrified and stoked all at the same time. (Anthony and Melissa: if you’re reading this, just substitute “over the moon excited” for “nervous” and “thrilled” instead of “terrified”.) I’ve been dreaming up ideas since they asked me. What I want to ask YOU is:

If you’ve ever done this before, what do you know now that you wish you knew then?

What’s the best way to put people at ease (including yourself) when taking pictures (especially wedding pictures that’ll be in frames for years to come)?

Are there any favorite photographers that you always turn to for inspiration?

Are there any other pointers you’d like to give me?

I think that’s all the questions I have (for now). I’m sure I’ll come up with more as the date nears. The wedding isn’t until April 2012 but I really want to be prepared. And since you’re going to be giving me answers (I sure hope you do), I’d like to give you something in return. Here are a few links I’ve found and I think you’d enjoy them.

This phone cover is ingenious. 

What do you think about this upcoming camera? Be sure to click on the picture for some fun!

Wouldn’t these make the cutest save-the-date wedding announcements? I just love How About Orange

These are the best cupcakes I’ve ever tasted in my entire life. And that’s saying a lot because I really like cupcakes. I’m insisting you make them and then invite me over. And in case you read the comment at the end of the blog (you’ll see that it was never answered), you really do use that much amaretto. Totally delicious!

Isn’t this just taking it a bit far? I love my DSLR camera and my iPhone is with me at all times, but this might be too much even for me. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Questions and links

  1. Here’s what I liked that my photographer did at my wedding. 1) they had us do most of the photos before the wedding. I liked that idea so guests weren’t kept waiting. So to give us that special moment, they had us see each other alone for some private photos so we could ooh and ahh at how nice we looked. 2) When it came time to view the pics, they had us invite whomever we wished to come for hors de vours, drinks (pop in our case), and a slide show of all the good ones. Then we went through each shot and chose what we wanted. It was nice and I could totally see you doing that!

    You’re gonna do great, Amber! Just make sure you ask what shots they can’t live without and then trust your instincts.

  2. Amber, you’ll be fine. I’ve read a lot of different articles on things like this, and the biggest point made is to be prepared. See the venue before the wedding, get an idea of the lighting situation, know the equipment you’re using, and keep backup equipment. You’re gonna see the venue, I did some starchart mapping and the lighting at 3:30 is the same as it’ll be for the wedding, and you already wanted to work with the equipment beforehand. Don’t worry about it too much, you’ll do fine. 🙂

    A good article on what not to do: http://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2010/07/fwigtew-and-other-first-wedding-acronyms

  3. Followed your husband’s sweet shot here, so I don’t know anything about your photography, but I’m sure you’ll do great; especially if you start now preparing 🙂 You clearly have a great sense of humor and THAT will help them relax. I did read a suggestion recently that said to have an emergency kit of safety pins, wipeys, bandages, etc. little things that people might need and come to the bride for (because some people don’t know it is the bride’s day and to leave her to enjoy it) because as the photographer you will be able to see and avert crisises.

    I’m commenting because WHAT? a mount for your lens to your iPhone? Truly incredible!

  4. I so can’t help with the wedding photos – but I can pray for you:) and I will:) – but I LOVE CUPCAKES, too! I don’t cook but maybe someone I know will make them and I will send you one – or maybe just the empty wrapper- LOL:)

  5. What a great opportunity! Anthony’s right – the best thing you can do is be prepared. You’ve got the skill already, you’ll just have to be ready to put it into action! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lens envy « Freckles and Fences

  7. Pingback: Jessica and Josh « Freckles and Fences

Leave a Reply

