Lens envy

Man, have I been busy! I can’t remember if I’ve told you but I’m throwing a 40th birthday party for Ken. It’s going to be quite a bash so that’s why I’m starting early. I’m making all the invitations and can’t wait to show them to you. No peeking till they’ve been delivered, though. But I will tell you that they’re the bomb! It’s been birthday party central around here. And we’re taking a long weekend getaway next week so I’ve been prepping for that, as well. Not to mention the everyday stuff like laundry, dishes, etc. 

So, onto some photos. I’ve really been obsessed with these mushrooms that are popping up all over our lawn during the rainy season. For some reason, I’m only taking pictures of them in the stinking dark. This one looked like an alien space ship to me.

194/365:

On Thursday something wonderful arrived. Something shiny and beautiful and lovely. A new lens! Well, not really. Remember the wedding that I’m going to shoot in April? The groom rented a lens for me! He’s a fellow photographer and knows what he wants for the wedding. Since I don’t own the lens he wants me to use, he rented it so I could play with it and use it for an engagement photo shoot with him and his beautiful bride-to-be. To say I was thrilled would be an understatement. It’s a Canon 24-105 lens and let me tell you, I love it. If it were’t quite so pricey, I might just keep it. This is what my 50mm wants to be when it grows up. There’s definitely some lens envy going on in this house.

195/365:

The above picture was taken on my iPhone with Camera+. Ken loves the app but I can’t say that I fell in love with it. Maybe it was because I’m not particularly in love with the composition or the lighting. What apps do you use for your smart phone? I know that everyone and their brother loves Instagram. Is it really all that?

I decided to have a photo shoot with my two favorite subjects on Friday. They were actually pretty willing and we had some fun. I fell in love with the lens even more. Boy, am I in trouble.

196/365:

Who knew standing on the a/c unit could be so fun? My boys, that’s who.

I actually captured a good one of Ethan. Let me just tell you that my two children are so different. The camera loves one & the other…not so much. Ever see the episode of Friends when Chandler & Monica have engagement pictures taken?

That’s usually Ethan. I think he got it from me. Sorry, son. But I managed to work through it to get this one:

He sure is a cutie, isn’t he?

The rest of the weekend is full with the engagement photo shoot (as long as it doesn’t rain) and a beach baptism. Yes, the family that hates the beach will be there. I actually love going to the beach for that. Maybe it’s because I count it as church and not technically a trip to the beach. What are you doing this weekend?

 

3 thoughts on “Lens envy

  1. It is an amaaaazzzing lens… but it’s only useful when you have something to photograph. I’m surprised you got both us *and* your boys to cooperate wit the camera.

  2. I would love to see the same shot taken with the two different lenses for a comparison. I do love the photos I get with my 50 mm lens, but don’t like having to move myself around to zoom in and out on a subject.

Leave a Reply

