The missing voice

So here’s the deal: I use my voice. Don’t we all? I talk to my family, friends and sometimes to myself (don’t judge). And I sing, too. In the car, in the shower, in my band and in church. Not so much these days. Way back in June Jackson decided to share his sore throat with me (isn’t he such a nice son?). He was better within a day. My sore throat hung around for 2-3 days and when it was gone, so was my voice. I sounded like a 2-pack-a-day Pall Mall smoker. Then I lost it completely – I could only whisper. You don’t understand how hard that was for me. Who has two thumbs and likes to talk? This girl! (OK, so maybe I’m not good at jokes. Again, don’t judge.)

This has been going on for almost 2 months. I (finally) went to see a doctor. He put me on some meds. The initial thought was that I have a form of reflux that caused my laryngitis. So far, the drugs are not working. He also instructed me to see an ear, nose and throat doctor. *sigh* I’m not the type of person that’s at the doctor all the time. In fact, as an adult, this is the most I’ve seen a doctor in years. I’m also not the type of person that wants people shoving stuff down my throat (literally). So, if you’re the praying type, I’d really appreciate your prayers. I’m in no pain whatsoever but would really like to get back to singing. I miss my voice.

209/365:

In proofreading this post, it seems a tad on the depressing side & that’s not what I wanted. So, to offset the sad tone of the email, I’ll leave you with this photo:

Who can be sad while looking at this precious face? My niece is the best!

3 thoughts on “The missing voice

  1. Oh no! I hope that you get your voice backk soon too! That is to long to be dealing with that for sure! … and that is the bext photo I have seen all day 🙂

Leave a Reply

