The quickly disappearing Magic Hour

If you’re a photographer (and even if you’re not), you may have heard of the Magic Hour. It comes right after the Witching Hour. Usually. The Witching Hour starts (for me) about 30 minutes after the boys get home and it produces great stress and sometimes tears (the boys cry sometimes, too). The Magic Hour is the hour right before the sun sets and it produces magical light for photographers. As witching as the Witching Hour is, the Magic Hour is just as magical. Make sense? Good. Now that you’re familiar, I can continue.

Jackson, my mom & I quickly ran down to the store tonight. When we were leaving, Jackson put a newly purchased crate over his head. What 8 year old boy wouldn’t? When I looked back at my lollygaging boy, I just knew it’d make a great photo. Aaaand, of course, I didn’t have my camera. But since the store was less thaan 1/2 mile from my house, I knew we’d make it home in time to snag that great photo in the magical light. You guessed it: by the time we got home, the Magic Hour was over. The light and the magic were gone. I had to proceed inside the house. Ick. I hate taking portraits inside my cave house. There’s no sparkle in the eyes. Always, always, always use natural light if possible. So, I present today’s photo with a catch: I reserve the right for a Do Over. Hopefully, sometime in the near future, I’ll get to do this photo shoot over. In the Magic Hour.

262/365:


One thought on “The quickly disappearing Magic Hour

Leave a Reply

