Tulips, Lake Michigan and a sunset

This weekend we went to the other side of the state to the Holland Tulip Festival. I’ve been wanting to see this for over a year! There were two different weekends we could have gone. I was afraid that if we went on the first weekend not all the tulips wouldn’t be blooming. But I was also afraid if we went on the 2nd weekend that all the tulips would be dead. It was a gamble either way so we decided to go on the first weekend and, just as I thought, about half of the tulips hadn’t bloomed yet. No matter, though. We had a great time. Well, almost all of us. Jackson was less than thrilled to be there. He felt that we were “wasting a Saturday.” We’re terrible parents and told him that memories are made by doing things rather than playing games. See? Thrilled, I tell ya. He was thrilled to celebrate spring, flowers, tulips and family time. He couldn’t contain his excitement. In fact, while a traditional Dutch dance was happening in the streets he was so excited he just had to look away: 

After the festival, we headed to Lake Michigan. With the exception of Ken, none of us had been to the western side of the state. Except for when we left to grab dinner, we stayed there until sunset. As you’re well aware, I’m not in love with the beach but few things are prettier than the sun setting on the water, don’t you think? 

5 thoughts on “Tulips, Lake Michigan and a sunset

  1. you have no idea who I am, but I saw Friends of Giants perform at Banana’s and I loved you lot so much. And it was great all your extra quirky melodica and I believe you played violin at one point. I loved it, and I just saw that there was a new album out and your picture was not on the website anymore. My investigation led me here. I am sure you are happy and doing new wonderful things, but I was sad to not see you in the band photos. I think I read you are still on this album though. Is that correct?

    • Oh my goodness, you are too kind! I loved being in that band and will treasure all the memories from those times. My husband got a job up here in Michigan last year so I had to leave Friends of Giants. Yes, I’m on the album and they’re still together and playing. In fact, I think they’re playing this week at New World Brewery (personally, my favorite place to play). Thank you so much for all your compliments – made me feel “famous” (crazy, I know).

Leave a comment