Young the Giant

If I forget to tell you later, I had a great time tonight.

We are going to see Young the Giant. I’ll wait here while you check them out. You’ll love them; I’m sure. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Back already? OK, good. Liked them, didn’t you? Told ya.

So, I’m super excited to see them. I, unlike Ken, am a concert goer. I love it. Love the energy, love the experience (even though it’ll be a stinky, sticky bar), love to sing along with the band. Like I said, I just love it. This was the concert that almost wasn’t. You see, YtG (That’s what I call them; we’re close like that) has been canceling their shows lately. Apparently when you sing constantly your voice can just go out on you. That’s a pretty bad occupational hazard to have when singing is your livelihood. The lead singer had bronchitis and was ordered to rest his voice. We anxiously checked their web site daily as show after show was cancelled up to last week. Luckily this show is still on!

Last night our friend, Jessica, saw on facebook that there were only 20 tickets left. Bad news when a group of 7 are planning on going. Ken hopped online to buy everyone’s tickets but he was only allowed to purchase two. After the transaction, he went back online to purchase another two but he was told it was sold out! In a panic, he started sending me messages (I’m working at my dad’s office this week). Here we thought we bought the last two and had to tell everyone else going now not going, “Sorry, but we’ll have fun for you.” We called our local record store and found out that they had 15 tickets left but no one could make it to the store last night. We’d have to wait till they opened at 10:00 this morning.

Our nightly prayers were said & those prayers included a request for 5 more tickets to be left for us. This morning, we got up, got dressed, watched The Office (That reminds me, next time I’ll include a thankful prayer for DVR.) and impatiently waited for 10:00 to roll around. As soon as it was time, we hopped in the car and I silently prayed that there wouldn’t be a line for the tickets. (Yes, this is how I think) To our delight, no one was waiting outside the record store and we picked up our tickets!

So that’s my story for today. I’m going to try to blog more often. Please forgive me if it’s not something that you’re dying to hear. I won’t apologize for today because I’m sure you’ll be thanking me for pointing you in the direction of some great music. I’m nice like that. You’re welcome.


One thought on “Young the Giant

Leave a comment